UK and EU Trademarks

UK registered trademarks protect Intellectual Property rights in England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.

A UK trademark is ideal if you do not plan to trade anywhere outside of the UK.

UK trademarks are registered on a first come, first serve basis.

A EU trademark or Community Trademark protects your rights in the 28 member countries of the EU.

This would be ideal if you plan to conduct business abroad within these countries or if you plan to expand trading in the EU.

EU trademarks are also registered on a first come, first serve basis and are a cost-efficient way of obtaining Intellectual Property rights in these countries.

The current member states of the Community Trademark system are:

  1. Austria
  2. Eire
  3. Italy
  4. Portugal
  5. Belgium
  6. Estonia
  7. Latvia
  8. Romania
  9. Bulgaria
  10. Finland
  11. Lithuania
  12. Slovakia
  13. Croatia
  14. France
  15. Luxembourg
  16. Slovenia
  17. Cyprus
  18. Germany
  19. Malta
  20. Spain
  21. Czech Republic
  22. Greece
  23. Netherlands
  24. Sweden
  25. Denmark
  26. Hungary
  27. Poland
  28. UK